Teaching Your Kids About Time: Alarm Clocks and Clock Crafts

20 Mar

imageKids Need and Want Responsibility

No matter how old or young your kids are, they need and want responsibility! The best thing I ever got for my 4 and 7 year old was their own alarm. I never dreamed that having an alarm in my girls’ room would make mornings so much easier!

My 7 year old sets her own alarm and with my 4 year old, we do it together. Since they were given the responsibility to wake up to the alarm, THEY DO!!! In fact, most mornings, they are ready to go before I get out of bed. Note: I lay my girls clothes out the night before!

Who would of thought an alarm would make my life easier?

Quick Learning Lesson on Timeimage

Setting an alarm is the perfect chance to teach and/or reinforce a lesson on time. Being a certified teacher and a stay at home, I take every oppurtunity to teach a lesson. Kids learn better by connecting their learning with everyday experiences. When setting the alarms, I get out the regular standard clock (I use the Big Time Learning Clock) and compare the current and wake up time using the standard and digital clock. We discuss the hour and minute hand comparing it to the digital clock. Kid connection: Have your kids create their own clock using paper plates. (See the craft clock picture and directions on how to make these clocks in the next section, Money Saver Clock Craft).

imageMoney Saver Clock Craft

Wen reviewing and/or teaching time with your kids, having a clock that they made, motivates and enhances their understanding of time. The more hands on activities your kids do with time, the more your kids will understand the concept of time! I use the Big Time learning clock, my kids use the clock that they made and seeing the excitement on their faces, with their clock in hand ready to learn, is priceless! Kids are motivated to learn when they take part in the learning experience!

Get details on how to make this clock by visiting Learning Ideas Grades K-8, 5-Minute Interval Paper Plate Clock. She has some great ideas on making clocks using paper plates that keeps kids motivated and WANTING to learn, like the Baseball Clock, Easter Clock, and one of my kids favorites… Telling Time with Manipulatives!

Need other tips on making your mornings easier? See my article:

Morning Craziness: How to Make Your Morning Less Chaotic with Kids

Related

Teaching Kids with Play Dough (momslooking2save.com)

One Response to “Teaching Your Kids About Time: Alarm Clocks and Clock Crafts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 27 Blogs with Methods to Teach Your Child How to Tell Time | Babysitting - June 26, 2013

    […] Teaching Your Kids About Time: Alarm Clocks and Clock Crafts […]

Leave a Reply

